Skip to content
August 30, 2013 / Julia Westover

Fall Co-op Thus Far

After being here at Sport in Society for about a month know, I already know that the next 5 months of my co-op are going to be full of fun activities and events that I never thought I would have the chance to be a part of. The staff here is always energetic, kind, always makes me laugh and feel comfortable, and I am constantly learning new things from each one of them every day. I haven’t had the opportunity to facilitate a training yet, but I hope that in the upcoming months that will change. I’ve been able to watch a few trainings, and I even took part of the MVP training in June, and I know that I’ll be ready to go when the time comes, or at least I better be!

Over the past few weeks, I have been working on my own project for this semester, and I am so happy that things are finally starting to come together. I had the idea that I would like to begin a conversation about LGBT athletes with the Northeastern Community. With Jason Collins coming out as a gay NBA player and DOMA being declared as unconstitutional, it seems like the perfect time. I personally experienced a time where an athlete was afraid to come out to the rest of their team because they were afraid of what they might say or think of them. With all the research that I have done about this topic, over 95% of all LGBT athletes said that they wished they had someone to look up to that would have told them that the coming out experience isn’t that hard, because then they would have done it sooner. I’m particularly interested in this topic because I am currently a Northeastern athlete and I know how the culture can be and have seen first had how much of a struggle it can be. I hope to start getting deeper in this planning so it can happen very soon!!

Leave a Reply

The World of Special Olympics

The sun never sets on our Special Olympics Movement. See what's happening now...

Up2Us Blog

Sports-Based Youth Development. A coalition of youth sports programs.

Basic Black Blog

Conversations on the Black experience

The Knightly News

Keeping up with all that happens at Epiphany.

Our Game

Official Blog of MLB Historian John Thorn

changethegameconference

Just another WordPress.com site

Justine's Baseball Journey

My Journey as the First Woman to Throw Batting Practice to MLB Teams

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

